Our Leadership

The Salvation Army is recognised all over the world for its uniformed members. The organisation itself is structured a bit like the military in terms of its uniforms and ranks. This means that often you’ll come across ‘Salvationists’ with extra insignia or initials on them or a slightly different style of trimming on their uniform. The ranking system has varied over the years so here’s a guide to the current structure…

  • The General (head of The Salvation Army globally)
  • Commissioners, Colonels & Lt.-Colonels (often in charge of territories around the world and other key positions of wide ranging importance)
  • Majors, Captains & Lieutenants (Roles range from Corps leadership to specific roles based at Divisional or Territorial Headquarters)
  • Lay minsters and local officers (often but not always with the title of Sergeant or Sergeant Major to indicate their responsibility, such as Corps or Young People’s Sergeant Major)

The page provides an overview of how our Corps at Morriston is structured. There are lots of roles that need fulfilling at a busy Corps like Morriston. Most are filled by uniformed members, but many are superbly carried out by non-uniformed members of the Church.

Morriston Citadel Leadership Team

  • Corps Officers (ministers/pastors) – Majors Neville & Yvonne Andrews
  • Corps Sergeant Major (key organiser/lay minister) – David Lloyd-Jones
  • Assistant Corps Sergeant Major – Mair Laugharne
  • Corps Secretary – Helen Mason
  • Corps Treasurer – Linda Craven
  • Bandmaster  – Brian Jones
  • Songster Leader – Chris Lear
  • Young People’s Sergeant Major (Acting) – Matthew Stonham

 Other Leaders

Adult & Family Ministries

  • Luncheon Club – Major Yvonne Andrews
  • Knit, Natter & Prayer – Major Yvonne Andrews
  • Men’s Fellowship Leader – Elfed Pelzer & Hazel Rees
  • Parent and Toddlers – Kristen Renouf

Children’s Ministries

  • Kid’s Alive – Matthew Stonham
  • Kid’s Club – Jristen Renouf
  • Primary Sergeant – Brenda Watts

Music Ministries

  • Band Secretary – Derek Brown
  • Songster Secretary – Simon Richardson
  • Songster Sergeant – Cheryl Webster
  • Songster Pianist – Jonathan Mead
  • Singing Company Leader  – Catherine McCaw-Aldworth
  • Corps Pianist – Chris Lear

Audio Visual & IT

  • Multi-Media/Sound Desk – David Lloyd-Jones
  • Corps Webmaster/Social Media Manager – Simon Richardson